Do you read the local paper?

WKTnewlogoI am not a fan of most print newspapers. In my metro area, there is only one big newspaper, so if you don’t like the editorial bias, there are no real alternatives. I find that I can search multiple news outlets via the internet and provide a balance in the editorial biases more easily.

BUT…I always read the Webster-Kirkwood Journal. It may not be a terribly balanced piece of journalism, but it does represent the community where I grew up and currently live. And that means I have a stake in the news stories and the letters to the editor, and the complaints about dogs barking or the people who took the newspaper to locations far and wide and submitted their photos for their day of fame. And I also always read the obituaries…As I get older, there is a greater chance of seeing the name of a familiar person there.

I like to follow the news from the local school districts, the local politics and get a peek into who’s who and what’s what. I can even read the local police reports from the communities (that can generate a few chuckles depending on who writes the reports and how bored they were at the time…)

But honestly, there can be an awful lot of humor if you still have a sense of humor…

The top headline in this week’s paper,  including a large color photograph, was “Rallying To Protect Kids From Gun Violence.” The article highlighted the efforts of the Women’s Voices Raised for Social Justice and their upcoming event at a local sculpture park over Mother’s Day weekend.

The issue of illegal gun ownership and use continues to be a problem, no matter which side of the gun debate you stand on. Honestly, with the exception of criminals who possess illegally obtained guns, I think most people don’t take issue with the need to remove guns from the criminals…

But I found an almost hysterical irony as I read through the paper when another  story focused on the Kirkwood Theatre Guild’s summer musical featuring the musical arrangements of a former classmate of mine: John McDaniel. That wasn’t the irony. The irony was in the name of the musical:

“Annie Get Your Gun.”

Seriously. I did not make this up. I am not that funny on my own.

http://www.websterkirkwoodtimes.com/Articles-Features-i-2013-05-03-186346.114137-Rallying-To-Protect-Kids-From-Gun-Violence.html

http://www.websterkirkwoodtimes.com/Articles-Features-i-2013-05-03-186364.114137-Annie-Get-Your-Gun.html

2 thoughts on “Do you read the local paper?

  1. OK, that was an unexpected ending! LOL!
    I do read the paper, but try to keep it to a small percentage. What was once a conservative paper, is now so far to the left, it hurts my brain to read it.
    I don’t think there are any reporters who can write a story without adding their own bias. I would really like to have ‘just the facts ma’am.’ 😉

Leave a Reply

