Will it still count if I tell you that I am going to cheat???

I wrote the other day about nominees and awards…and the blessings just continue to fall as I receive additional nominations for such sweet blogger awards! I am overwhelmed.

You see, my mother nagged me to write. For years. But she really didn’t want me to write a BLOG. No. She wanted (and still wants) me to write a book. (If you’ve paid attention to the name of my blog…yep).

She thinks I am giving all my good stuff away for free. I think I am gradually wading into unknown waters to decide if I want to go all the way under, or just stay ankle deep in the written waters.

Initially, I began blogging with the intention of posting SOMETHING every. single. day. And I did…for awhile. And then I realized that sometimes I needed a little time for some thoughts to percolate a little longer instead of just writing straight from the hip, so to speak.

There were even several days that would pass and I would not have written a single thing. Life had interrupted that continuous chain of thoughts. Life is like that sometimes. You have to live it or there isn’t much to write down about life.

I have gotten to know myself a little better. I see things about myself that I really don’t like…but it is shared, hoping that it may be of some help or encouragement to someone out there in this invisible blogosphere. And I do not refer to the former Illinois governor in the use of that term ;)!

I have gotten to enjoy so many blogs since I joined this written society of creative writers, photographers and cooks. Moms and grandmas and pastors. People from all around the world who take the time to share something of themselves with total strangers. I love that about blogging. Being intimately open and transparent with people I cannot even see. Ah, the irony…

So in the last several days, several different blogger nominations have appeared on my wall, and I am just so honored and humbled. I like to think that these nominations are coming from people just like me…and I just am so thankful that there actually are people out there that READ my blog!!! It amazes me! And just like I heard over and over and over last night with the People’s Choice Awards…it really is all about the fans…or in this case, the readers. I appreciate your time. To those who comment…thank you so much. My invisible friends. And to Lori Schulz, who actually HAS written a book and saw fit to nominate my blog for these awards…a most heartfelt “thank you” for your thoughtfulness. May the Lord bless you in your writing for His honor and glory! (http://lorischulz.wordpress.com)

So, here goes…I am going to tackle a few of these awards in one sitting–so many of them have similar requirements, and nap time is almost over…

versatile bloggerThese are the rules for the Versatile Blogger Award:

  • Display the Award Certificate on your website
  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award
  • Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you have linked them in the post

Post 7 interesting things about yourself…yeah, right…

    • I love purple and yellow.
    • I am learning to quilt.
    • I love taking photographs and finding a spiritual lesson to share.
    • I lived in Ecuador for 4 years…and wish I could go back.
    • I dream of retiring in an RV and living off the grid.
    • I love learning new things…just not the hard way!
    • I laugh loudly.

My list of bloggers:

super sweet bloggerSweet Blogging Award.  How SWEET! I wish I could eat one of those!

In order to earn my treat, I need to answer some questions:

  1. Cookies or Cake?  A toughie for sure since I am on a gluten free diet…but honestly, I love PIE.
  2. Chocolate or Vanilla?  Chocolate–the darker the better.
  3. Favorite sweet treat?  GF Almond Joy Pie.
  4. When do you crave sweet things the most?  On cold, snowy or rainy afternoons with a cup of coffee.
  5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be?  Well…my honey calls me Doll. 🙂

The last requirement for receiving the Super Sweet Blogging Award is to name a baker’s dozen (13) of my favorite bloggers.  So now I get to share the sweetness!

shine on awardThe Shine On Award requires you to nominate other blogs To Enjoy Posting this Award on Their Own Blogs (list of 15 is below) and suggest other blogs that tickle my fancy.

Here is my list of 15 blogs to nominate for the Shine On Award:

 

lovely blogger awardThese are the rules for The One Lovely Blog Award:

  • Display the Award Certificate on your website
  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award
  • Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you have linked them in the post
  • Post 7 interesting things (I already posted mine above)

Please check out these blogs–they are all creative and worth your time to give them a look. And thanks so much for sharing my little slice of blog heaven pie!

15 thoughts on “Will it still count if I tell you that I am going to cheat???

  1. Wow! What a great way to start the year, so many wonderful awards proffered by those you admire and care for. I do hope you enjoy these virtual hugs, and on those niggling days when you question whether or not what you have to say matters, you can reflect back to these moments.

    Like yourself, when I began TLL my intention was to post something every day, or nearly every day. Turns out I just didn’t have something to say every single day. At first I felt as if I had failed, but then I got to thinking and decided that, for one, blogging when I had something to say would prove both meaningful and purposeful, and two, it freed me up to go out and actually live life, instead of only writing about it.

    Thank you for these nominations. I am honored you thought of me. 😉

    Blessings,
    Cara

    • I smile when I read your posts and your comments. All these friends we make in this world of writing, yet don’t meet face-to-face. And still I don’t feel alone at all!

      • It’s crazy, but it’s true; I feel more of a connection with a few people via the blog, than I do with those I encounter every day. You are never alone, Paula. 😉

  2. Congratulations to you for the awards! And thank you very much for the nominations. I am honored that you would recognize my blog in this way. All best wishes to you for the new year!

  3. Your awards are well deserved! Your mom was right, you should indeed write! Maybe even a book one day!
    Thanks for the nominations. I already accepted a versatile blogger award, but the rest are firsts!

  4. Thank you very much, Nanadoll!

    BTW, be sure to tell your mom that blogging is a prerequisite for authors nowadays. Publishers want/need you to have a platform already before considering investing in your book. If you get to a writers conference they will HAMMER this into you. You’re supposed to have a facebook page, twitter account, author’s page on Amazon… the whole works before you can get your book off the ground. Of course, that makes you wonder when we’ll have time to actually *write the book*…
    So, good luck, and if God has given you a message other people need, you’re on the right track! 😀

    BTW I don’t think I can find 15 blogs to nominate. I’ve been too busy to search for more than the ones who use “creation” in their taglines. But I’ll do my best!

  5. Congratulations on all of your awards! I’m glad that your mother encouraged you to write. 🙂 Thank you so much for nominating me, and I like your comments on Ecuador, the RV, and laughing out loud!! Keep writing. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Blog Award Nominations! | Creation Science 4 Kids

  7. Thank you for all the nominations, and for sharing all your thoughts with us! I’m preparing for some back surgery so will handle these after I recover from it. Again thank you and congratulations on all your awards!

  8. Pingback: Post 600: Thoughts on Blogging, Education & Life « Dark Pines Photo

Leave a Reply

