Little Miss Mind-Your-Manners…

Yes...YOU!

Yes…YOU!

Have any of you been struggling with the flu? Or maybe an extended case of the creeping crud? Or maybe bronchitis?

If you watch the news, you will know right away that you are not alone.

There. Do you feel better? I didn’t think so.

The reason I bring up this topic is because the “seasonal” illnesses have been such an awesome learning opportunity for the little people in my house.

Over Christmas, my youngest grandchild and my son-in-law were so gracious that they shared their nasty virus with me. Sharing. I think I once wrote about it being highly over-rated?

Anyway, it knocked me on my backside. And then…the holidays were over, and the little cherubs came back…one by one.

Someone showed up with a boogie nose. And then sneezes. Someone else showed up with a yucky cough. And like good little doobies, they all shared.

{Could someone please explain to me WHY three year old toddlers think LICKING THE TOYS is a great way to play? Gross.} But I did discover that you can put wooden blocks through the dishwasher without them getting ruined. Several times. (I used a mesh laundry bag. See? I shared.)

So…as someone who suffers from asthma and chronic bronchitis, I really don’t get colds. I just get really sick. And for some reason, my asthma has gotten worse the last few years, and I don’t know why. Could it be because I live in the 6th worst city for allergies and asthma?

The asthma attacks are scary, for me and for my family. Last night, I had a bad attack. But it also came with a silver lining. Sort of.

An aside here: Do you ever wonder if you are getting through to little people when you are training them in manners? Well…I have confirmation that they really do listen.

As I was coughing and gasping for air, little Curly Top stood right next to me and whispered, “Nana, cover your mouth. Nana, you’re coughing. Cover your mouth.”

Yes. I was coughing. But I was holding onto the counter because I felt like I was about to black out. No. I wasn’t using the manners and rules I have been teaching. I was struggling to breathe. And I couldn’t get my inhaler inhaled because I couldn’t stop coughing. It was scary. I was afraid. My daughter was afraid. She almost called 9-1-1.

And little Miss Manners? She was very persistent. The entire time I coughed, she reminded me of the rules. Very softly, but also very insistently.

Once I got calmed down, I was able to chuckle about it. Now, the proof of this pudding is that when SHE coughs, she actually does tuck her little face into her elbow. Ever so sweetly.

If only they would all read the article I sent out about not sharing germs in the first place…

5 thoughts on “Little Miss Mind-Your-Manners…

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

