Tell Me How Can You Mend a Broken Heaaaarrrt…

Are you hearing the Bee Gees singing? Remember that love song about broken hearts?

I can think of younger days when living for my life
Was everything a man could want to do.
I could never see tomorrow,
but I was never told about the sorrow.

And how can you mend a broken heart?
How can you stop the rain from falling down?
How can you stop the sun from shining?
What makes the world go round?

How can you mend a this broken man?
How can a loser ever win?
Please help me mend my broken heart
and let me live again.

I can still feel the breeze that rustles through the trees
And misty memories of days gone by
We could never see tomorrow,
No one said a word about the sorrow.

And how can you mend a broken heart?
How can you stop the rain from falling down?
How can you stop the sun from shining?
What makes the world go round?
How can you mend this broken man?
How can a loser ever win?
Please help me mend my broken heart and let me live again.

Songwriters: GIBB, ROBIN HUGH / GIBB, BARRY ALAN

My little Froglegs has discovered the sorrow of heartbreak…and I don’t mean the heartbreak of psoriasis, either.

Froglegs has been in love with Ellie since kindergarten. That’s a long time for a little boy in first grade.

They’ve had play dates, birthday parties together, sat together every day at lunch…you know, the innocence of true love…childhood style.

But yesterday, Froglegs suffered what is probably the beginning of a string of heartbreaks…Ellie decided to marry Michael Jon.

You see, Michael Jon lives on Ellie’s street. Closer than my little Froglegs. I guess these long-distance romances don’t work so well when you are in first grade and can’t cross the street by yourself.

So Froglegs spent some quiet time on his bed. Mending. Cogitating. And we THOUGHT he was drawing.

Nope. He was pouring out his heart on a scrap of cardboard…salvage from one of my stashes of scrap that maybe I hope to possibly maybe actually get to use sometime, someway…

Froglegs’ sentiments are worthy of Hallmark…

der Ellie

hav a grat tim maring micll jon

be hape be cus you hav subude theyt you can maring

frum froglegs

Translation: Dear Ellie, Have a great time marrying Michael Jon. Be happy because you have somebody that you can marry. From Froglegs.

So my little buddy is putting on a brave face and trying to be happy for his special girl. Who is no longer HIS special girl…and as for Michael Jon…well he is only HALF a friend now…for Ellie’s sake.

There will be no duel. No stalking or taking out of contracts. No…Froglegs will go back to school tomorrow and probably sit with his buddies at lunch. Probably play a few innings of kickball at recess. And then drown his sorrow in some chocolate milk. And candy.

Candy always helps mend those broken hearts…

5 thoughts on “Tell Me How Can You Mend a Broken Heaaaarrrt…

  1. Oh, so amazingly heartfelt. From the mouths of babes. I have to say, as a kindergarten teacher, I could totally read that without translation. I love that he decided to write his feelings. What a sweet little boy!
    Good luck to Froglegs!
    Beth

  2. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

