Period

Can you imagine what it would be like to read a blog post without punctuation? No commas, periods, question marks, exclamation points?!?

My husband teaches high school Spanish. Spanish has its own quirky punctuation like the upside down exclamation points and question marks at the beginning of the line as well as the right side up corresponding punctuation at the end. But in both languages, periods go at the end of the sentence. Period.

So we discussed how one might effectively communicate the importance of the period. Hmmmmm…let me think on that…

So, in my twisted sense of thinking, I reminded him that girls should automatically know the importance of periods. And what a missing period might mean…

And since I had all my plumbing removed about 20 years ago, my life as been one super long run on sentence! Just ask my husband. He is still waiting for me to come up for air.

But back to the issue of punctuation. There are some very important reasons for using punctuation in all its glory. Apostrophes and dashes and quotation marks…they give clarity to the written piece. And thus avoids confusion.

The following should serve as a great example of punctuation’s importance on context:

Poor punctuation can ruin your love life.

Dear Peter, I have always admired a man who knows what love is all about. You are kind, generous and considerate. People who are not like you now admit to being useless and inferior. You have ruined me for other men. I yearn so much for your loving embrace. I have no feelings whatsoever when we’re apart. I can be forever happy- will you let me be?
All my love Sue

Dear Peter, I have always admired a man who knows what love is. All about you are kind, generous and considerate people, who are not like you. Now admit to being useless and inferior. You have ruined me. For other men, I yearn. So much for your loving embrace. I have no feelings whatsoever. When we are apart, I can be forever happy. Will you let me be?
Sue

(http://www.writerscircle.biz/Contrib/Threads/370.aspx)

So the next time you think about your punctuation and how unimportant it is, just remember this terrible blog post about it and realize that I might just decide to write about spelling next!

2 thoughts on “Period

Leave a Reply

