Being Annoyed

I am annoyed.

My husband is stuck in Seattle trying to find a way home, but keeps getting bumped off flights. It is the price you pay when flying on a non-revenue fare. He had a lovely week with his mother and some of the family, but I must confess I was bummed that he was going on this trip.

I know. I’m selfish. I wanted him here. With me. Sharing my daily annoyances.

It isn’t always easy living in a small house that has a lot of messy little people running around. It gets even harder when the mommy of these little people gets strep throat along with a couple of the kids. That means that Nana has a little more to do. And without Papa here…sigh…let’s just say none of us have been very happy the last several days.

Poor Stephanie got so sick with strep, she was puking her guts out. She does that a lot. Little Dancing Eyes was so pathetic. It wasn’t enough that he got strep throat, oh no. He had to get the scarlet fever variety. Just like his mommy did when she was a little girl.

So Dancing Eyes has been itchy and twitchy. And sneaking upstairs several nights to sleep with Nana. Well…HE slept.

Curly Top was the next one to succumb to some bug. She was the most pathetic. Fever. Achy skin. Achy arm pits. Achy little rump roast. Her clothing made her writhe. So, there she was, our naked, little, writhing mess of tousled curls going haywire. It was so sad. Especially since it was after midnight.

Yesterday was a better day. Antibiotics kicked in. The kids started fighting again. We regained a sense of normalcy. Papa was supposed to arrive in time for dinner.

Right.

He’s still in Seattle. Sleepless. Alone. Cheering up strangers that he meets and sharing the love of Jesus in Spanish with travelers. Making the best possible use of his time. He is amazing.

But I am annoyed.

My kitchen is a mess–the counters were to be installed today. The last piece of this crazy little mini-reno puzzle. No phone call to tell me the guaranteed drop-dead date was going to be a lie.

So I dutifully figured out how to turn off the water and disconnect the pipes–but thankfully hadn’t done that yet. Now the temporary boards for my counters are cleared, but I can’t find the dining room table. Ugh. This is not the way I like it, huh uh, huh uh.

But as I have been sitting here, I have been thinking about all those passages in the Bible about going through the valleys of death, of the constant and abiding presence of God throughout the trials of life. And you know what? Even in the middle of my little, minutiae-filled, mundane, pity party Debbie Downer day, He is with me. God is in the big stuff. He is even in the small stuff. If I will open that ugly part of my annoyed self to Him, I think He will happily remove that feeling of being annoyed only to be replaced with joy.

I am no longer feeling annoyed. Actually, I am feeling more hopeful because now I have the day to sort through the junk on the table and find their permanent homes. I will picture this day as my reprieve. The weather is fabulous after so many weeks of extreme heat. I will have a thankful heart.

Psalm 100

A Psalm for giving thanks.

 Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth!
     Serve the Lord with gladness!
Come into his presence with singing!

Know that the Lord, he is God!
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
and his courts with praise!
Give thanks to him; bless his name!

For the Lord is good;
his steadfast love endures forever,
and his faithfulness to all generations.

2 thoughts on “Being Annoyed

    • i remember too late not to squander the moments–this moment is all that is certain. sigh. i just need to remember how greatly i am blessed.

Leave a Reply

