Privacy

Apparently the word ‘privacy’ has been the victim of confusion. At least in my little world. So I thought I would do my own little informal yet totally scientific study on the term.

According to Merriam-Webster for children, privacy is defined as:

Main Entry: pri•va•cy
Function: noun
Inflected Form(s): plural -cies
1 a: the quality or state of being out of the sight and hearing of other people : SECLUSION <the privacy of the home> b: freedom from being intruded upon <one’s right to privacy>
2 : SECRECY <talk in privacy>

When I asked Sean what he thought the word meant, he said, “Umm, hmmm…I don’t know.”

Of course, I had to find out what Dancing Eyes thought. He gave a very complete answer. “Um, privacy means go to bed.”

That gave me something to think about.

When I asked Curly Top for her input, she said, “Hey, there’s Papa.”

In the background, I heard my daughter asking, “Why, did they do something wrong?”

If you think about all those little responses, it becomes totally clear why I have none of it. And I really do mean NONE of it.

I have taken to locking the bathroom door. Not because I don’t want to be caught unawares, but it is truly the only time I am alone. And although one would think simply locking the door would keep little bodies out of the bathroom, it does not preclude them from interfering with my seclusion or even secrecy.

“Nana, what are you doing?”

“Why did you lock the door, Nana?”

“Nana, when are you coming out?”

“Nana, you’re taking too long.”

“Nana, how come I can’t come in with you?”

And the questions just keep coming, followed by the sound of the child sitting down on the floor outside the door and begin banging on the door. Rhythmically. Annoyingly. Assuring absolutely NO PRIVACY.

I am now in contact with Russian officials to find out what it would take to be on the next flight to the International Space Station. I am accepting donations. And I will look into tax deductions for your donations.

2 thoughts on “Privacy

  1. Wow! I hear all the same stuff! Including, “I have to go to the bathroom now.” 🙂
    Great post, Nana. I can definitely relate.
    God Bless you & yours!

Leave a Reply

