The Mini-Remodel Could Just Kill Me

We are in the middle of a mini-kitchen remodel. I hesitate to use the word “mini” because the room has been stripped down to the studs and subfloor. The cabinets are not being replaced. Well…even that isn’t really true. Let me explain…

A few months back I blogged about needing a wall to come down so that I could see from the kitchen into the living room. In order to accomplish that, we had to remove upper cabinets and shuffle the layout. So…we removed two upper cabinets, moved some of the base cabinets, are shifting the dishwasher, stove and microwave as well as moving the refrigerator. This allows for a peninsula with room for eating. Woo hoo! It more importantly has opened up a “window” about five feet wide that has totally transformed the house. (My husband suggests putting a mat down on the opening so that I can take naps while keeping an eye on things. Ummm, no, I don’t think so.)

Check out some of these shots…

the GREAT DIVIDE

beginning to see the light of day…

Sean helps remove the old tile

Dancing Eyes gets into the action

New tile almost done…

Since these photos were shot, the floor has been fully tiled, grouted, sealed. Phew. A few outlets were relocated. Phew. The studs have been removed. Phew. The ductwork has also been relocated. Phew.

BUT…I have no sink. Well…I have a sink. I DON’T have a CONNECTED sink. Or stove. Or dishwasher. My dining room is like an eat in kitchen with only a functioning refrigerator. My bathroom is doubling as my dishwasher. Don’t think too hard about that one. I am disinfecting constantly.

I came close to complaining over the weekend. It was starting to get to me…but with three weeks of laundry piled up, I felt a little overwhelmed. A contributor to my sense of whelming over could have also included the fact that bedrooms were being shifted around to better accommodate the kids and the guinea pigs and assorted junque.

But…it’s Monday, and I have regained a portion of my sanity. The laundry is done. Dishes are caught up. First layer of drywall dust is cleaned up. Kids are happy in their new room and on their new bunk bed WITH SLIDE. The guinea piggies are getting their cage cleaned. And I don’t have a headache. I am not dying. I have not killed anyone, and my husband still loves me and has not given up on the mini-makeover. Phew.

 

P.S. My husband informed me that I complained on and off all weekend. He credits that to the headache. Hmmmm…

 

 

One thought on “The Mini-Remodel Could Just Kill Me

  1. I understand! All of this will fade when your new space is complete! Remodeling is so challenging.

    Have a wonderful day!

    blessings,
    karianne

Leave a Reply

