Nana I Want to Dwibe

They grow up so fast. I was reminded today of that commercial when the father is giving driving instructions to his daughter, and when the camera finally shows the girl, she is a LITTLE girl. That was the way the father still viewed her–as a little girl. It is one of those touching commercials. Poignant. Parents of older children can totally relate to that feeling–the letting go and seeing their children take flight.

I was reminded of this just an hour ago–Superman and I took little girl with the crazy curls with us to the hardware store to seek (unsuccessfully) matching floor tile for the kitchen floor. There are a few sections that did not get tiled four years ago (under the cabinets), and unless we find the tile, ALL of the floor must be re-tiled. (Fortunately, although not my first choice, there are more than enough cases of the tile we used in the basement remodel to more than cover the entire kitchen floor.)

{The shopping trip was not a complete failure because I found the paint system I want to use on the cabinets and I found a great Country French decor magazine with enough ideas to keep my head busy for months. Poor Nathan :(! }

The most humorous, and slightly frightening, moment came as we got ready to get into the car.

“Papa, I want to dwibe,” said little Miss Curly Top.

“You want to DRIVE?” I asked.

She nodded her head. We burst into laughter. But she was so serious. And I started thinking about the way little kids get these ideas that they can do everything WE can do…Sean, my serious but truly nutty buddy thinks he can do not only everything WE can do, but that he also has superhuman, mad skills and powers that we DON’T have. Why, please tell me, do these children forget they are CHILDREN???

And I am reminded of the tender way John addresses the believers when he writes…My little children…Little children…beloved…

1 John 2:1-2

My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world. 

1 John 3:1-3, 16-18

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is. And everyone who thus hopes in him purifies himself as he is pure.

By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God’s love abide in him? Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.

The time will come when my little grandchildren will be truly ready to drive…I do not look forward to that day…but I will love them then with the same tenderness that I have for them today. And in the same way, I know my Heavenly Father still has that same tender love for me. That He still considers me His beloved child. There is such joy, peace, hope and confidence for us to enjoy when we embrace His love for us. For today, I choose to rest in that love and savor its sweetness.

One thought on “Nana I Want to Dwibe

  1. What a wonderful reminder of the awesome God that we serve. I am about to have a new driver in our family and I will be praying every step of the way.

    blessings,
    karianne

Leave a Reply

