Trust

Is “trust” a problem for you? Has anyone ever betrayed you? Anyone ever broken your confidence? Has your husband or wife been unfaithful to you? Do you find it hard to trust people because of things in your past?

I am studying the life of David right now. That man had some tough challenges to face. It wasn’t enough that he went down and killed Goliath. Not so long after that tremendous victory, King Saul of Israel, the man for whom David had battled the giant, was out to kill him.

David ran all over the countryside, hiding out in caves, in the wilderness, in enemy territory. He knew that if Saul or Saul’s servants were to find him, he was a goner.

King Saul was a ruthless king. He even had all the priests of God murdered because they wouldn’t side with Saul against David. David was God’s choice for king–and Saul was jealous and out for blood.

Now if I am David, and God has had me anointed to be the replacement for the current king, I am thinking that God is not only going to put me on that throne, but He is also going to pave the way and clear out the obstacle–and in my way of thinking, that does not include hiding out in caves with about 400 disgruntled countrymen for my companions.

When your life is upside down and you have been betrayed by those you trust, what is your “natural” instinct? Do you lash out? Do you make your case? Do you repay the evil with evil?

My humanity fails me so often and I do not respond the way I would like, but David…the man after God’s own heart, teaches an awful lot about what we are to do when our heart is broken by betrayal:

Psalm 56

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

For the choir director; according to Jonath elem rehokim. A Mikhtam of David, when the Philistines seized him in Gath.

 1Be gracious to me, O God, for man has trampled upon me; Fighting all day long he oppresses me.

My foes have trampled upon me all day long, For they are many who fight proudly against me.

When I am afraid, I will put my trust in You.

In God, whose word I praise, In God I have put my trust; I shall not be afraid. What can mere man do to me?

All day long they distort my words; All their thoughts are against me for evil.

They attack, they lurk, They watch my steps, As they have waited to take my life.

Because of wickedness, cast them forth, In anger put down the peoples, O God!

You have taken account of my wanderings; Put my tears in Your bottle. Are they not in Your book?

Then my enemies will turn back in the day when I call; This I know, that God is for me.

10 In God, whose word I praise, In the Lord, whose word I praise,

11 In God I have put my trust, I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me?

12 Your vows are binding upon me, O God; I will render thank offerings to You.

13 For You have delivered my soul from death, Indeed my feet from stumbling, So that I may walk before God In the light of the living.

I don’t know about you, but my flesh wants vindication and for my enemies to be brought low.

There was a time in my life that I found myself caught up in a terrible web of deceit by a supposed friend. Her lies and trickery very nearly destroyed me. I became depressed and lost my hope. I remember crying out to the Lord and wondering where He was. Why was He allowing me to be so vilified unfairly? Was I not serving Him? Had I not obeyed Him? How could He allow this? Where was the justice?

Like David, my “battle” wasn’t over with just the slaying of the giant. It took time and finding refuge in the cave. BUT, it was in that “cave” that I sought the Lord and was reminded that He was with me; that He knew the truth; that I could trust Him to protect me. While I was brought very low for what seemed an eternity, in His time He raised me up.

Are you in the middle of a dark cave right now? Do you wonder where God is? Do not be afraid. Trust Him. He is faithful and true.

Then my enemies will turn back in the day when I call; This I know, that God is for me.

10 In God, whose word I praise, In the Lord, whose word I praise,

11 In God I have put my trust, I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me?

2 thoughts on “Trust

  1. I think what it comes down to — what it always comes down to . . . — is fear. We fearful for our hearts; once we have experienced the first real breach in trust, something grievous happens. The illusions of perfect trust in another human being are shattered. Whether one seeks our ruin or we are merely collateral damage along the sin-paved road, the hurt leaves a mark. And to protect ourselves from incurring more like it, we barrier, we shield, and we fight back. Unfortunately, and almost comically, all our efforts to expunge the possibility of being hurt only exacerbates that fear.

    Perfect love drives out all fear. Moreover, we are told that there is no fear for those who believe in Christ. This is because our hearts no longer belong to us. They are safely in His hands, awaiting our arrival into his glorious kingdom.

    Thank you for sharing this,
    Blessings,
    Cara

Leave a Reply

