Studs

I find it an almost daily occurrence to be humbled by the little people who either live with me or visit me on a daily basis. Sometimes, you expect that awesome sense of humiliation at the hands of a miniature human…other times, well, they pretty much attack you from behind.

My afternoons are spent hoping for a little quiet time while the nappers nap. Dancing Eyes no longer naps–we just couldn’t get the child to wind down at night and go to bed, soooooo–we did away with the naps. That, of course, meant that I needed to find something “quiet” for him to do during “quiet time” each day. Some days I am more successful than others, and a lot of it depends on the weather. We have had a remarkably lovely Spring, so we have enjoyed many days together out on the deck watching our feathered friends or weeding the garden (I do the weeding, Dancing Eyes usually hops around and looks for sticks and bugs).

For some reason we were sitting on the couch yesterday and I felt something hard on my head and then heard a “beep” noise.

“Look, Nana!”

I looked–Dancing Eyes was holding his Papa’s stud finder. My head had just triggered the sensor. Sigh…I started thinking about the studs. You know, there are many different kinds of studs…there is the Papa Superman Husband…there are the jewelry kind…there are also the construction variety…there are also breeding studs…

I could go on, but let’s just say that what really came to mind was the reality that I now had been provided with proof that I had a very hard head. And I really had hoped that maybe by now, at my age, I would be mellowed and NOT such a hard head. I was feeling bummed.

You know, the verses that came to mind also made me question whether my dream home is really a log home.

Luke 6:39-45

He also told them a parable: “Can the blind guide the blind? Won’t they both fall into a pit? A disciple is not above his teacher, but everyone who is fully trained will be like his teacher.“Why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but don’t notice the log in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take out the speck that is in your eye,’ when you yourself don’t see the log in your eye? Hypocrite! First take the log out of your eye, and then you will see clearly to take out the speck in your brother’s eye. 

“A good tree doesn’t produce bad fruit; on the other hand, a bad tree doesn’t produce good fruit. For each tree is known by its own fruit. Figs aren’t gathered from thornbushes, or grapes picked from a bramble bush. A good man produces good out of the good storeroom of his heart. An evil man produces evil out of the evil storeroom, for his mouth speaks from the overflow of the heart.”

You know, we don’t like to think about carrying around a 2 x 4 or a log in our eye, but when confronted with the proof of it, what is the response? I know the stud sensor didn’t really identify any studs residing in my cranium, but the illustration is filled with merit, isn’t it?

How often do I think I have the answer to your problem? How often do I think I could just point out what’s wrong with your life, while my own is a mess? Suffice it to say, there are times when I would be right, but many times that I would be wrong. When God brings along a dose of humiliation, it doesn’t feel too great and yet His methods and His motives are truly pure. I like to THINK mine are pure, but I think I give myself far more benefit of the doubt than I give to other people.

I don’t want to be the kind of person who thinks she knows what someone’s heart is saying; what motivations a person may or may not have. I would like to be the person who consistently recognizes that there is a LOT that I just don’t know, and that there is a Righteous Judge who will weigh the hearts of men and mete out justice that is consistent with His attributes of holiness, grace, mercy, righteousness, justice and love. Honestly, I think it would be best left up to the Expert, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

