My Redeemer

Today I am pleased and honored to welcome a guest writer, Grace Scruggs. Grace insists she is not a blogger, but she is a wonderful Bible teacher and godly woman. She also happens to be my older sister. Please welcome her to my blog page. This is her first attempt at writing–I know you will be as gracious and encouraging to her as you have all been to me. She welcomes your feedback.

Redeemed

How does one find redemption?
“There is none righteous, not even one; all have turned aside;
there is no fear of God before their eyes…all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”
As Paul said in Romans chapter 3, “Being justified as a gift by His grace
through the redemption which is in Christ Jesus.”
This is the account of one woman who found release from her bondage to sin
through the blood of Her Kinsman Redeemer.


My Redeemer

I am the LORD, and I will bring you out From under your burdens [of sin], and I will deliver you from their bondage.
I will also redeem you with an outstretched arm. Exodus 6:6

How My Jesus Set Me Free

Destitute. Filling my stomach with the hulls of pig feed, I began scrambling for help…any help to keep me from starving to death. Oh, I had enough bread and meat to satisfy my body, but it was my soul that was starving.  Every day I would look to some person to fill my emptiness. Could it be that my family would be the ones to complete me? What about the people I called friends? Could they save me from myself? Who was there in the middle of the night to assuage the pain I felt when I considered the meaninglessness of my life?

What about my accomplishments? I have an education, a good job and I care about the people around me. I don’t go out of my way to inflict harm on anyone…or do I? Again, those nagging questions hunting me down, haunting me with accusing tone.

Where could I go for release from the burdens I carry? Who might I share them with to see them rolled off my weary shoulders?

If only there were a person who cared so much about me that they could sit still and listen to my list of offenses and still love me, still want to be with me, see some good in me. But everywhere I looked there were shadows, long and dark, with no friendly face to warm and light my path. I tried to run from them, from my own memories, but they were hard on my heels, accusing me, rejecting me, condemning me.

Who would want to spend time with a loser, a sinner? No one. Not one person would step up and accept me. No one could see past their own pain, their own chains, long enough to try to deliver me from mine.

The day of utter desperation finally came. I had carried the load of my sin for so long I could not take one more step. I fell to the ground dirty, torn and ragged. My skin was rubbed raw from the chains which clung to me. I had no strength left in me. What was I to do? I collapsed in a heap of rubbish. A wretch. Sobbing, alone and dying.

“Who will deliver me from this body of death?”  I barely breathed this cry for help, knowing there was no one to hear.

But I was wrong! The Man-God they call Jesus was made like me. On a dark, cruel day He walked the hill called Calvary. He fell along the same road where I lay huddled. As He stood up, He cut the cords binding me to my weight of sin and tied them to His back. He stretched out His arms on the cross as He hung there…alone…for me.

He looked into my eyes with love and spoke the words of redemption my soul had longed to hear, “Child, you are free! I have come to deliver you from the power of death and to break the bonds of slavery that sin has chained to you.”

“But,” I called out to Him, “what of my accusers?”

“In Me you have redemption, the forgiveness of your sins, through My blood shed for you…it is My grace to you, My gift of love. There is NO CONDEMNATION to those in Me.” (Eph 1, Rom 8)

When I realized the load was gone, lifted from my shoulders, I leaped for joy! Free at last! His last look to me was joy, despite the blood dripping from His head, His hands, His feet.  For the joy set before Him, He endured the cross for me.

As I ran free into this new life, I called out to Him, “What can I do to thank You for this redemption of my soul?”

He said, “There are many more just like you, carrying that load, stumbling with no hope of salvation. You must go out and publish this redemption story! Send it out far and wide to all the corners of the earth.”

“But what will strengthen me and guide me to fulfill Your desire for me?”

“My Father has planned it all for you already. ‘Now the God of peace who brought up from the dead the great Shepherd of the sheep through the blood of the eternal covenant, even Jesus our Lord, equip you in every good thing to do His will, working in [you] that which pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen.’”

Today I am here to pass on this so great salvation. This good news is for you. YES! I mean you. You now know what Jesus has done for you. You know who you are, what you have done. You know that you are without hope unless someone intervenes in your life and redeems you from the pit of despair. Jesus is your Redeemer, just as He redeemed me. Come to Him, believe in Him, rejoice that He has carried your sins to the cross and you can be made free.

These words were written by Moses long ago, yet they are still true today.“I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under your burdens [of sin], and I will deliver you from their bondage. I will also redeem you with an outstretched arm.” (Exodus 6:6)

Romans 5 says that it was “while we were still helpless, while sinners, while we were enemies of God, that we were reconciled to Him through the death of His Son.” God demonstrated His love toward us by allowing His Son, Jesus Christ to die for us.

“Blessed be the Lord God of Israel, for He has visited us and accomplished redemption for His people, salvation from our enemies, rescuing us that we might serve Him without fear, in holiness and righteousness before Him all our days.” (Luke 1)

“Blessed be the Lord who has not left you without a redeemer today.” (Ruth 4:14)


One thought on “My Redeemer

Leave a Reply

