Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

Today I was very angry with Adam and Eve for blowing it for all of us. It felt great to blame them for all the trouble we have in the world today, and in my life in particular. Ha! They maybe got the ball rolling in the garden of Eden, but believe me, I have done enough ALL BY MYSELF to let them officially off the hook for my sins. But every now and then, I really wish they would have done a better job obeying God and not eating of that forbidden fruit. It has just been a mess ever since, and today I saw AGAIN the impact of sin at large in our world.

I saw an amazing video this morning, thanks to my sister, Grace. The video was a clip of computer-generated fetal development through delivery created by Alexander Tsiaras, I believe of Yale University. He explains on the video the reason behind its development, but I was most fascinated by the reality as seen through the eyes of my little grandsons. Cadance (Dancing Eyes) will be turning four in about a month, but as he watched the video with me, he was absolutely confident that he was watching a video about a human baby not yet born. I did not say a single word until it was over. He didn’t ASK any questions–he informed me about what he had just seen. It was not necessary for me to say a word. I didn’t have to persuade him that it was a baby, he didn’t refer to it as “cells” or “tissue”. He knew it was a baby, that the baby was living and would be born. Sean, of course, was full of questions–why this, why that…you know, he just wanted all the intricate details about why the baby is kicking on the mom’s bones to get out…but both boys got me thinking. The video taught me some things I didn’t already know–like that we have 60,000 miles of blood vessels in our bodies??? That is just amazing to me. But the little guys didn’t question the veracity of the video or anything–they watched, they believed. Period.

Why is it that adults have such a hard time with that? It is simple enough for a child to understand, but adults harden their hearts against the truth that is staring them in the face because it’s what? Inconvenient? Uncomfortable? Simple? Unsophisticated?

It reminds me of the simplicity of salvation. We find so many ways to junk up the truth and the simplicity of the salvation in order to make it seem “sophisticated”  or like some “12 step method” to appease our need to do it on our own instead of accepting His way. And THAT is the issue, isn’t it? We really want to do it OUR way, on OUR terms, in OUR timing. Submitting our thoughts to God’s way of thinking is not convenient, but it is WISE and GOOD. His ways and thoughts are beyond mine. When I saw the video and considered God’s fingers creating, it just blew my mind. Does it blow your mind?

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=fKyljukBE70

Image

2 thoughts on “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

  1. Lovely thoughts.This spoke to me volubly. “We find so many ways to junk up the truth and the simplicity of the salvation in order to make it seem “sophisticated” or like some “12 step method” to appease our need to do it on our own instead of accepting His way.”
    The picture, too, is precious, and I also wanted to tell you that I adore your new banner. 🙂

    • Thank you, Cara. I spent the weekend dejunking my house…time to dejunk the mind too! 🙂 My youngest grandchild, Isaiah, now almost 4 months old–the only one that lives far away. How I miss him!

Leave a Reply

