Holy

While listening to the radio this morning, I heard what has become a favorite song of mine by Addison Road called What Do I Know of Holy. It got me thinking about the words holy and holiness and God’s expectations of His children. Being one of those children, I thought it would be helpful to understand what the word HOLY really means, especially if we are told to BE holy.

Ephesians 1:3-5

Redemption in Christ

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, 4 just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, 5 having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will,

Ok. I am a good doobie. I am a pleaser. Just tell me what I am supposed to do, right? Just give me the definition and I can do it. right? I WISH it were that easy!!! Check out the definition of holy from dictionary.com:

ho·ly

ˈhoʊli/ [hoh-lee]
adjective, -li·er, -li·est, noun, plural -lies.

adjective

1.specially recognized as or declared sacred by religious use or authority; consecrated: holy ground.
2.dedicated or devoted to the service of God, the church, or religion: a holy man.
3.saintly; godly; pious; devout: a holy life.
4.having a spiritually pure quality: a holy love.
5.entitled to worship or veneration as or as if sacred: a holy relic.
Well, if Ephesians 1 says I am to be holy and without blame in love, that kind of means love is to characterize me as a person. And that I am to be sacred, dedicated and devoted to God. Oh boy. This is going to be harder than just defining the word. Wouldn’t it be so nice if all that we needed to BE what we were supposed to be was a simple definition? But a definition is not the same as living it out loud in full-blown noise and color, is it? Nope. Not for me, anyway. I can have all the definitions for God’s big words that characterize HIM, but that just does not translate into me exemplifying them. Oh I may get close to one every so often, but it isn’t permanent and consistent. Unlike God, I fail to fulfill those wonderful, godly attributes on a regular basis. I fail in a big way.
And it shames me. Imagine holy Jesus being taken into custody, betrayed by His own “friend”, forsaken by the people who claimed to be willing to DIE with Him. Beaten, scourged, mocked. And then to have His holy Father turn away from Him because He was just filled with the sins of everyone in the world–past, present and future? Can you imagine what that sight would have looked like to HOLY GOD ALMIGHTY in Heaven? What about the angels who were also watching this? Can you even imagine what sorrow there was in Heaven to see that? And I have the forgiveness of this Savior, given at no cost to ME, yet at such a trememdous price to the Savior of the world. Is it too much to ask of me to live a life of holiness?
I long for the day when I will be forever like Him because I will be WITH HIM. Translated into His likeness. Truly whole. Wholly holy. Until that time, I discipline myself to know Him more fully that I may have that confidence in what my life is to be like as I live it here in this temporal realm. I look forward with joy to that day of being with Him, being transformed. I am ready. It isn’t too late–get ready.
4 thoughts on “Holy

    • thank you so much–i find that when the Creator does the creating, photos can’t help but be beautiful–believe me, it isn’t me or the camera…

  1. Holiness is such an overwhelming, humbling concept. I agree — it will be amazing to someday truly be “holy,” thanks to the righteousness of our Lord.

    The lyrics of that song are beautiful, too. I don’t think I’ve ever heard that one.

Leave a Reply

