Recycling, Upcycling and Trash to Treasures

so loved

You know, I am very blessed. I have a husband who loves me, three children (I believe they also love me), a wonderful son-in-law, and four precious grandchildren. There is never a single day that goes by without the Lord bringing to mind how very blessed I am. I am thankful for those wonderful people the Lord has allowed me the privilege to love, and for the many new opportunities to see Him at work in and through them.

my little joy givers

Sean keeps me on my toes, though. If you think I see the blessings in small things, you really need to meet this little guy. He will be six years old in two short weeks, but he is years ahead in some areas.

Sean loves to draw and create things out of junk. He gets that from me, I am afraid, because I love to make junque out of trashed items. Remember the dining room table? Many days, as soon as his “hi, nana” is out of his mouth after school, he asks if I have any good stuff in my recycling bin. His papa has faithfully scrounged up numerous large boxes for rocket building, train building, submarines and apartment complexes. For Christmas, I gave Sean a large multi-pack of tape as well as his own roll of duct tape. He was in earthly heaven!

But this little boy really made me think about thankfulness in a whole new light the other night. I was laying in my bed, propped up with my computer. I was still not feeling so great, but was on the mend. He walked in our bedroom and looked around.

“Oh Nana! You are SO LUCKY,” he exclaimed!

“Why?” I asked, thinking he was referring to my big bed, the TV or some other treasure he spied in the room. His response was AWESOME.

“You have your OWN TRASH CAN in your room!”

I did not see that coming. Hmmm, my trash can was his latest coveted item from my array of earthly possessions. Wow. He wants his own trash can? I am still trying to figure out exactly what it is that he sees as a benefit to his own trash can, but I am going to get one for him. And maybe I should get him his own recycling bin for his room, too. The more I think about it, maybe I could just store all of the recycling in his room…and a small trash can. That would open up an entire cabinet in the kitchen, where I am terribly short on storage space. If I get really creative, we could DECORATE his room in a form of avant garde recycling chic!!! (If I keep writing long enough, that poor child will take me and wrap me up with duct tape. 🙂 )

But seriously, if you think about this little story from an eternal perspective, that is exactly what God does with us, isn’t it? We are nothing but FILTHY RAGS ready to be thrown into the burn pile. But what does God do with us? He pulls us out and washes us clean, and makes us into His beautiful workmanship. In Him, we are made NEW. And God does not make junk or junque. He creates us as precious jewels.

Today, I am so very thankful for the lessons of trash, treasures and recycling. I am the recipient of the ultimate upcycling!

2 Corinthians 5:17

J.B. Phillips New Testament (PHILLIPS)

16-21 This means that our knowledge of men can no longer be based on their outward lives (indeed, even though we knew Christ as a man we do not know him like that any longer). For if a man is in Christ he becomes a new person altogether—the past is finished and gone, everything has become fresh and new. All this is God’s doing, for he has reconciled us to himself through Jesus Christ; and he has made us agents of the reconciliation. God was in Christ personally reconciling the world to himself—not counting their sins against them—and has commissioned us with the message of reconciliation. We are now Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were appealing direct to you through us. As his personal representatives we say, “Make your peace with God.” For God caused Christ, who himself knew nothing of sin, actually to be sin for our sakes, so that in Christ we might be made good with the goodness of God.

Leave a Reply

