All that glitters is not gold…

Song of Solomon 2:10-13

10My beloved spake, and said unto me, Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away.

 11For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone;

 12The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land;

 13The fig tree putteth forth her green figs, and the vines with the tender grape give a good smell. Arise, my love, my fair one, and come away.

It has been almost 32 years since I married the love of my life. The road has not always been easy, but the journey has been most worth the effort to get to the place we are now. When we married, our honeymoon was not much of a trip–driving across the US in an un-air conditioned Honda Civic during what would become a tremendously dangerous heat wave. So, for our twenty-fifth anniversary, we decided to take a bigger trip and truly have that honeymoon.

Nathan is from Nome, Alaska and I am originally from Sheboygan, Wisconsin. We both prefer the climate further north, so we decided to visit the lighthouses along Lake Michigan and then camp in Door County. My first camping adventure in about 30 years :)!

The pictures are truly worth so much more than any words. They can tell the story far better.

joy in the journey

Image

Lake Michigan at Indiana Dunes 

Image

the light at Big Sable 

Image

lone bluebird along the trail 

Image

hiking along the shore 

Image

the hike to Big Sable was beautiful

enjoying the time together

where to go...

we took a boat out to Washington Island, and saw this lovely little boat in the harbor

the shore at Washington Island had the most unusual rocks and clearest water

Washington Island is pretty protective of their rocks!

Nathan in his little raft--he never cares about the unimportant--just enjoyed the peacefulness

We have taken a few other little getaways since our 25th anniversary trip in 1985–we realized how important that time away is for our marriage. As we continue this journey of marriage, these pictures help me through some of the harder times that crop up between our times away. How thankful I am to have someone who loves me so much and accepts my love without reservation. So blessed!

Leave a Reply

