Please Pray

It has been almost impossible for me to write since my last post. I learned that a family, whom I have loved my whole life, is being tested in an excruciating way. Old sorrows have crept to the surface of my heart as I have been in prayer for this family. And losses that are decades old feel fresh and brand new.

This post is limited to soliciting prayer for a young couple, David and Rachel Hanson (pictured below at their wedding just a few weeks ago).

Wedding Joy

This couple has now, in just a few short weeks, had their lives unalterably changed by grief. David, a lineman for a company in California, suffered a very serious fall. Reports have varied as to the height of the fall–I have heard 40′ to as high as 60′. He suffered skull fractures and serious fractures to pelvis and other bones. He has also suffered an apparently devastating brain injury.

As I write, members of the family, mostly in Wisconsin, are gathering to be with this injured son/brother and his young wife. I confess I have never met either of these two young people, but I have loved David’s grandparents, aunts, uncles and father as if we were related by blood. One day I will write more about that.

For today, I plead that as you read this post you lift up this family to our great God, the great Physician. The Lover of our souls. I do not know what purpose God has in this tragedy. But I do know that David and Rachel have lived their lives to honor and magnify their Savior, Jesus Christ. Wholly His.

My prayers now are more like groanings. Words fail me as my heart overflows with grief and my eyes repeatedly fill with tears. Please join the over 2500 people who have come together, literally from the ends of the earth, in prayer for this family.

Bring the Rain
by MercyMe

I can count a million times
People asking me how I
Can praise You
with all that I’ve gone through
The question just amazes me
Can circumstances possibly
Change who I forever am in You

Maybe since my life was changed
Long before these rainy days
It’s never really ever crossed my mind
To turn my back on you, oh Lord
My only shelter from the storm
But instead I draw closer through these times
So I pray

Bring me joy, bring me peace
Bring the chance to be free
Bring me anything that brings You glory
And I know there’ll be days
When this life brings me pain
But if that’s what it takes to praise You
Jesus, bring the rain

I am Yours regardless of
The dark clouds that may loom above
Because You are much greater than my pain
You who made a way for me
By suffering Your destiny
So tell me what’s a little rain
So I pray

Bring me joy, bring me peace
Bring the chance to be free
Bring me anything that brings You glory
And I know there’ll be days
When this life brings me pain
But if that’s what it takes to praise You
Jesus, bring the rain

Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Is the Lord God Almighty

Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Is the Lord God Almighty!

11 thoughts on “Please Pray

  1. What terrible news. So sorry to hear about this accident. I will pray for him and his and your family!

    • I feel so helpless–praying, wanting others to know and pray. I am glad that you think it is all right. It was so hard to do. I just can’t imagine how you guys are all managing. So thankful for our heritage in the Lord!

    • Thank you so much. God is working His plan in His ways and His timing. We are so grateful for the prayers being offered up. God is blessing so many lives through this tragedy. It is amazing.

  2. thanks for sharing this….I will begin praying for David and Rachel today! Please keep us posted! I’ve always enjoyed music by MercyMe….but now this song brings new meaning to me!

  3. Paula,

    My heart weeps with yours . . . I look at this gorgeous couple and in their eyes I see the love they have for one another. To think that something so tragic has taken place so soon after nuptials breaks my heart. It’s not fair. Only the consequence of the fallen world we live in; it offers no guarantees and doesn’t promise not to hurt you. I am dealing with this truth myself. Most gratefully I know we have a Father in heaven and spirit within us, interceding on our behalf. never for one second abandoning us. As our heart breaks, so does His.

    I will most definitely add David and Rachel to my daily prayers. Please continue to keep us posted on David’s progress.

    In His Majestic Name,
    Cara

Leave a Reply

