Laundry, Vinegar and Oxiclean

I actually really enjoy doing the laundry. I like sorting the clothes into the appropriate piles, I like pre-treating stains, I enjoy finding new tools to help me do the laundry even more effectively. Did you know that regular white vinegar works well as a fabric softener and keeps your washing machine nice and clean? It does, and it is a lot cheaper than using fabric softeners.

I hate wrinkled clothing, towels and sheets, so while I am drying the clothes I am standing there pulling things out to fold as the other items continue to dry. The thing I HATE about laundry is finding a stain that didn’t get pre-treated and went unseen until I pulled it out of the dryer. That makes me want to shout, and not in a good way. Usually it is a shirt that my husband used as a napkin or the pants that the grandkids wiped grime all over. It used to be that once they were dried into the clothes, there was no getting the stains out. But let me share with you a little testimonial about Oxiclean–not only does the powder work great as a laundry aid, the pre-treating gel spray will remove old, set in stains! I know, can you believe it? Just spray those old stains and wash them. I have been amazed repeatedly at how well this stuff works! And apparently it works wonders on decks, grout and just about everything else that needs special attention. I admit it, I am pretty crazy about getting my stuff really, really, really clean. So when the kids get things dirty next time, I am only removing “fresh” dirt. (And I bet you are wondering how this is going to transition into something more eternal, aren’t you?…)

We had a little snow the other day…I love snow and wish we had gotten a lot more of it here in St. Louis, but that little bit was really beautiful. For about 8 hours. When it snows I am reminded of how clean I have been made by the sacrifice of Jesus on the cross. It is an amazing reality that the blood that Jesus shed for me actually worked better than Oxyclean at cleaning out the sin of my heart. There is not a product on the market that could cleanse my life from the inside out and make it clean. The Bible says that there is nothing that I could do to clean up my life and make it worthy of God…any good that I could have done would have just been filthy rags (Hmmmm, pretty sure that Oxiclean couldn’t clean up those filthy rags of good works).

Job 9:29-31
“I am accounted wicked,
Why then should I toil in vain?
“If I should wash myself with snow
And cleanse my hands with lye,
Yet You would plunge me into the pit,
And my own clothes would abhor me.

Psalm 51:6-8
Behold, You desire truth in the innermost being,
And in the hidden part You will make me know wisdom.
Purify me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
Wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. 
Make me to hear joy and gladness,
Let the bones which You have broken rejoice.
Isaiah 1:17-19
Learn to do good;
Seek justice,
Reprove the ruthless,
Defend the orphan,
Plead for the widow.
“Come now, and let us reason together,”
Says the LORD,
“Though your sins are as scarlet,
They will be as white as snow;
Though they are red like crimson,
They will be like wool.
“If you consent and obey,
You will eat the best of the land;
I think the most amazing thing about my ultimate cleansing that I experienced when I trusted in Jesus as my own Savior dealt with my sins of the past and my sins of the future. His sacrifice took care of my sin problem ONCE FOR ALL! No pre-treating, no post-treating–I have been washed and in the eyes of my Lord Jesus, I AM CLEAN. Don’t you love how God does laundry?
2 thoughts on “Laundry, Vinegar and Oxiclean

  1. Ooo! Someone else who loves doing laundry as much as me! I don’t know what it is, but looking into the empty wastebasket fills me with this sense of pride and gratification I can’t quite explain. I’m known to buy way too many stain removers and garment enhancers. That aisle is off limits to me! Oxy clean really is a wonderful product, though, and works on so many different things.

    Love the scripture, too! Thank you! :)

  2. I’m back from our special trip to CA to celebrate our 55th Anniversary! Our daughter and her husband paid for our trip to celebrate it. We had a wonderful time. Good to be home! I got a great big hug from Sean and Cadance, two of my special grandies!!!! Love, Mom, Nana and Gr. Nana

Leave a Reply

