I’m A Toys R Us Kid

There is that part of me that never wants to grow up. I like to be spontaneous and make a lot of noise sometimes. I like to spend time playing with my little friends. I like to play in the dirt, look at bugs and worms and try new things. There is that part of me that still marvels at the newness of life as seen through the eyes of children. I like bright colors on my walls, colored paper, glue and scissors. I get excited when I learn how to do something new. I sing songs I learned in Sunday School and like to do the motions. There are days when I don’t want to do what I’m “supposed” to do.

It isn’t that I rebel against being an adult. I just think that most adults have forgotten that God calls us to Him as little children. There is a preciousness about being referred to as His child…to revel as a little one hearing “I love you” and not doubting for an instant that God is very simply and honestly speaking His love to me.

I hear my older grandsons arguing about being the big kid–“I’m bigger, Sean” but the truth is that Sean is bigger than Cadance. As a big kindergartner, there are days that even Sean wants to be “little” and not have to go to school. Somehow, he just knows that he is missing out on something great when he is at school.

And that is the tricky part, isn’t it? Balancing being a mature individual while not forfeiting our delight in the small and big things that are around us–bringing us joy. Maybe it’s that hummingbird that visits the feeder, or the presence of all those daddy long legs living in the pampas grass, or the ducks that decide to use your front lawn for their nap time.

For me, I never want to grow to be so “mature” that the beauty of creation ceases to amaze and excite me. I never want to tire of imagining that those clouds are shaped like elephants and birds. I want to wonder how God DID the things that He did and have my jaw drop in awe. And most importantly, I never, ever, ever want to forget how tenderly I am loved by my Savior. That there is no position greater in my life than being able to say, I am a child of God.

I John 3 1-2

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is.

Leave a Reply

